AKATA WITCH PDF

Look Inside. Her characters take your heart and squeeze it; her worlds open your mind to new things. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone! There seems to be no place where she fits in. And she has a lot of catching up to do. Will their training be enough to help them combat a threat whose powers greatly outnumber theirs?

Author:Gojas Mashura
Country:Serbia
Language:English (Spanish)
Genre:Video
Published (Last):7 September 2014
Pages:285
PDF File Size:3.1 Mb
ePub File Size:4.43 Mb
ISBN:523-1-40186-914-5
Downloads:91203
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader:Voodoojas



See free resources for parents and educators to teach kids about social justice and racial equality. Skip to Content. The Nigerian culture will be a new experience for many American readers. Sunny lies to her parents in order to receive her juju training, but within magical society the rules and morals are very strict: Education is honored more than wealth, and juju cannot be used to show off or to hurt non-Leopard People. The ultimate goal of the Leopard People is to protect the world from great harm.

Sunny is eager to learn and appropriately contrite when she lets her teachers down by breaking the rules. Although two of her friends are arrogant and challenge the restrictions laid upon them, they learn through experience why these rules must exist. The Leopard People in general are nonconformists and take great joy in not fitting in with everyday society.

Teachers beat their students, and there are schoolyard fights. A serial killer is abducting children, and Sunny foresees the end of the world.

Parents need to know that Sunny, the heroine of this fantasy set in Nigeria, is teased at school and called an akata, a derogatory term for African Americans. When the class misbehaves, the teacher hits her students with a switch, and Sunny is beat up by classmates.

Later, when Sunny begins to learn juju, she and her friends must confront a serial killer who has been murdering children in the neighborhood. Set preferences and get age-appropriate recommendations with Common Sense Media Plus. Join now. Add your rating See all 1 parent review. Add your rating See all 6 kid reviews.

Twelve-year-old Sunny has always been a misfit: She was born in America, but she lives in Nigeria. As she undergoes juju training, she begins to enjoy her newfound powers. She can stand up to the bullies at school and turn herself invisible; she can even play soccer in the daytime. But then she and her friends are given an important mission: to find and stop Black Hat Otokoto, a serial killer whose victims are always children.

Fantasy fans will enjoy familiar themes in a new and original setting. Just like any young magician, Sunny must learn the rules of her magic and pay the price when she breaks them -- such as when she uses her "spirit face" to scare a bullying classmate. Families can talk about how Leopard People earn chittim , their form of money, when they do well with their magic. Can you think of other so-called negative qualities that could turn into positive magic?

Sunny is severely reprimanded for using her juju powers to win a fight with a non-magic classmate who makes fun of her. Why do you think the Leopard People consider this such a serious crime? Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are created by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners. See how we rate.

Common Sense Media, a nonprofit organization, earns a small affiliate fee from Amazon or iTunes when you use our links to make a purchase. Thank you for your support. Our ratings are based on child development best practices. We display the minimum age for which content is developmentally appropriate. The star rating reflects overall quality.

Learn how we rate. Parents' Ultimate Guide to Support our work! Akata Witch. Imaginative story of U. Nnedi Okorafor Fantasy Rate book.

Read or buy. Based on 1 review. Based on 6 reviews. Get it now Searching for streaming and purchasing options Common Sense is a nonprofit organization. Your purchase helps us remain independent and ad-free. Get it now on Searching for streaming and purchasing options A lot or a little? The parents' guide to what's in this book. Educational Value. Positive Messages. Set limits for violence and more with Plus. What parents need to know Parents need to know that Sunny, the heroine of this fantasy set in Nigeria, is teased at school and called an akata, a derogatory term for African Americans.

Wondering if Akata Witch is OK for your kids? Stay up to date on new reviews. Get full reviews, ratings, and advice delivered weekly to your inbox. User Reviews Parents say Kids say. Parent Written by MsMoss April 13, Great read but NOT suitable for younger children at all! I bought this for my nine year old having heard it was like "a Nigerian Harry Potter". In fact, in a lot of ways it is — better in parts, arguably.

Continue reading. Report this review. Teen, 14 years old Written by ko7h November 29, Akata witch, the disappointing harry potter The book was relatively good for the first 7 chapters, after that it felt like a chore to read, with one chapter dedicated to a soccer game that doesn't im Teen, 13 years old Written by awtts April 23, One of the best books I've ever read! My mom got this book for me on Christmas and I'm so glad she did!

It was a great read, although if you get scared easily it might be better to read another What's the story? Continue reading Show less. Is it any good? Talk to your kids about Magic and Fantasy. For kids who love magic and fantasy. Books About Magic. Best Magical Movies. Our editors recommend.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. Magical start of the fantastic boy-wizard series. The Apothecary, Book 1. Cold War kids use magic to save world in brilliant novel. Dark but engrossing story of wizard education. About these links Common Sense Media, a nonprofit organization, earns a small affiliate fee from Amazon or iTunes when you use our links to make a purchase.

Read more. Pinterest Email Print. Personalize your media recommendations. How old is your kid? Have an account? Sign in.

Informizely customer feedback surveys.

EPIC OF KING GESAR PDF

Everything You Need to Know About AKATA WITCH by Nnedi Okorafor

Sunny lives in Nigeria, but she was born in New York City. Her classmate Orlu and his friend Chichi reveal that they have magical abilities- and so does she. And she has a lot of catching up to do. Orlu and Chichi have been working with their teacher for years.

ASI NACEN LAS COSAS JULI CAPELLA PDF

The Akata Books

See free resources for parents and educators to teach kids about social justice and racial equality. Skip to Content. The Nigerian culture will be a new experience for many American readers. Sunny lies to her parents in order to receive her juju training, but within magical society the rules and morals are very strict: Education is honored more than wealth, and juju cannot be used to show off or to hurt non-Leopard People. The ultimate goal of the Leopard People is to protect the world from great harm. Sunny is eager to learn and appropriately contrite when she lets her teachers down by breaking the rules.

HIBRIDACION SOUTHERN BLOT PDF

Akata Witch

Returned items are quarantined for days before check in. Thank you for being patient while they are processed. The building is open PM daily for holds pick up, quick account questions, and using the restroom. We are not taking book sale donations yet.

LOGANS ROADHOUSE MENU PDF

Akata Witch isn’t the “Nigerian Harry Potter.” Here’s why.

Twelve-year-old Sunny Nwazue was born in America yet lives in Nigeria. She is Black and albino. She's a great athlete, yet she can't go out in the sun to play soccer. Sunny then discovers that she has magical abilities, which makes her a "free agent" in the magical community called the Leopard People in West Africa. As a free agent, she needs to learn about the magical community. The group is cultivated by leaders in the magical communities to try to capture a serial killer who also knows magic. From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.

Related Articles